Małe Grozy

Łukasz Staniszewski

Keynote
Moving and sensual prose about a life in the countryside that is both ordinary and extraordinary – a collection of tales from
the Polish Macondo.

Selling Points
- A touching and highly evocative literary debut.
- Sensual and supple prose, drawing fromsome of the finest Polish and world literarytraditions, like Schulz or Marquez.
- A realistic and mythologized picture of Warmia – one of Poland’s most beautiful regions: full of forests and lakes, and
harbouring many mysterious and intricate stories.
- The author draws heaping handfuls from the local folk culture and lore, while transforming them into his own private tale.
- The driving forces behind Staniszewski’s world are Love and Death, as well as otheremotions – desire, lust, yearning, and
ap petites often with a fatalist touch.
- A collection of highly taut and compelling tales about specific people and places, which is also a universalmetaphysical treatise on the nature of the world and human nature.


DESCRIPTION

Warmia – a land of a thousand lakes and dense forests, one of Poland’s most beautiful areas. Yet its history conceals some dark secrets and tangled stories – much like Staniszewski’s prose debut. Little Horrors is a remarkable book, in which history and legend, as well as elements of local folklore smoothly interweave with the author’s boundless imagination, which keeps step with his tight and sensually rich language. The result is a marvellous tale of the Polish countryside, which is at once a universal metaphysical treatise on the nature of the world. The various stories, filled with charm and unusual protagonists, are an attempt to understand reality through storytelling. Staniszewski is also remarkably agile in juggling conventions and moods – there are touching love stories, mystery plots, and, as the title suggests, scenes of terror. Little Horrors is a literary micro-world, with something for everyone.

Target Market
Readers of atmospheric and moody prose.
Fans of Olga Tokarczuk and Gabriel Marquez.
People interested in Polish culture and folklore.


Release date: 2020
Pages: 160
ISBN: 978-83-08-07019-2
Rights sold: Germany (Schenkbuch Verlag)


Request manuscript

Little Horrors

Łukasz Staniszewski

Keynote
Moving and sensual prose about a life in the countryside that is both ordinary and extraordinary – a collection of tales from
the Polish Macondo.

Selling Points
- A touching and highly evocative literary debut.
- Sensual and supple prose, drawing fromsome of the finest Polish and world literarytraditions, like Schulz or Marquez.
- A realistic and mythologized picture of Warmia – one of Poland’s most beautiful regions: full of forests and lakes, and
harbouring many mysterious and intricate stories.
- The author draws heaping handfuls from the local folk culture and lore, while transforming them into his own private tale.
- The driving forces behind Staniszewski’s world are Love and Death, as well as otheremotions – desire, lust, yearning, and
ap petites often with a fatalist touch.
- A collection of highly taut and compelling tales about specific people and places, which is also a universalmetaphysical treatise on the nature of the world and human nature.


DESCRIPTION

Warmia – a land of a thousand lakes and dense forests, one of Poland’s most beautiful areas. Yet its history conceals some dark secrets and tangled stories – much like Staniszewski’s prose debut. Little Horrors is a remarkable book, in which history and legend, as well as elements of local folklore smoothly interweave with the author’s boundless imagination, which keeps step with his tight and sensually rich language. The result is a marvellous tale of the Polish countryside, which is at once a universal metaphysical treatise on the nature of the world. The various stories, filled with charm and unusual protagonists, are an attempt to understand reality through storytelling. Staniszewski is also remarkably agile in juggling conventions and moods – there are touching love stories, mystery plots, and, as the title suggests, scenes of terror. Little Horrors is a literary micro-world, with something for everyone.

Target Market
Readers of atmospheric and moody prose.
Fans of Olga Tokarczuk and Gabriel Marquez.
People interested in Polish culture and folklore.


Release date: 2020
Pages: 160
ISBN: 978-83-08-07019-2
Rights sold: Germany (Schenkbuch Verlag)